It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

Primrose cafe for breakfast!

Primrose cafe means as much to Clifton as the Suspension Bridge – it’s an institution in the village. We’ve previously done a charming little review about what a lovely dinner we had there last year, however I feel like I need to let you all into another Clifton secret… Primrose does a really ace brunch at the weekends!

I have long harped on about how I love a good breakfast at the weekend and how Lawrence and I regularly go out to sample Bristol’s many, many breakfast delights – and there are many. Primrose for me is certainly a favorite.

They have a good menu with lots of choice, including full breakfasts, bubble and squeak, bacon / sausages sandwiches etc. But I always go for the Belgian waffles with red berries, yogurt and maple syrup – to me this is bloody heaven on a plate and it totally feels like dessert for breakfast!

20131217-155619.jpg

Belgian waffles with red berries, yogurt and maple syrup

Lawrence generally likes to mix it up, and on our most recent visit he went for a toasted bagel with bacon, spinach, grilled tomato, baked Portobello mushroom, avocado and a soft poached egg. I can confirm that after stealing a rather large mouthful that it was tasty!

20131217-155611.jpg

Toasted bagel with bacon, spinach, grilled tomato, baked Portobello mushroom, avocado and a soft poached egg

Primrose opens at 9:30, and every time we’ve been its been getting busy at this time – its a place in demand, so I’d recommend getting there early-ish. The only down side to Primrose is that on the full breakfasts they don’t offer substitutions, which I think is usually pretty standard practice. However that said, it certainly doesn’t detract from the wonderfully prepared food and it’s charming appeal!

Primrose, you certainly have me as a customer for life! (I am now in fact craving the waffles… mmmm, waffles!)

One comment on “Primrose cafe for breakfast!

  1. Pingback: The It’s Just Nice Little Black Book of Bristol! | It's Just Nice

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on December 17, 2013 by in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , .