It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

It’s sleety, it’s raining , it’s windy, but it’s pay weekend! Woo! We’re certainly in the thick of winter – the weather is cold, January seems to be going on FOREVER and I don’t know about you but my good intentions for this year start to feel like they are falling to the wayside a little… Please note I didn’t set resolutions, I set intentions so technically I don’t need to stick to them whole heartily (check out how I am have managed to convince myself its all ok!)

Anyway, enough of my failed intentions –  let’s get down to jollying you all up at this very dark and gloomy time of the year!

This week Frankie’s highlight is…

Homemade mother trucking, eat as much as you like, popcorn! I love popcorn, could you tell!? I remember as a kid, on a Sunday, my mum would let me have an early bath, get me into my jim jams and let watch The Lion The Witch and the Wardrobe (the BBC series) with a big bowl of popcorn. Still, to this day, one of my most treasured memories. It’s probably because I got loads of attention from my mum and was sat with my family all snug but the popcorn was certainly a big plus point. We weren’t really allowed sweet things as kids and I think my mum made it herself, she probably did until my little brother and sister came along and meant she had no time to do stuff any more (they ruin EVERYTHING, jokes my little brother is cool, and this is a test to see if Beanie is reading).

Anyway, I recently started making popcorn out here in Malaysia because the food is too nice and Klynton and I need to watch our figures. It’s so easy –  just heat some coconut oil (extra healthy) in a good non stick pan with a lid, chuck in a few kernels and when one pops chuck in a handful more and then put a lid on them.  They then all pop like crazy! Just shake them about a few times to make sure they don’t stick, then when they’ve all stopped popping take your lid off and sprinkle them with flavour. I add a little bit of salt and pepper (pink mineral salt, not sea salt) and then chilli powder because I love spice. Here’s a video of them popping, SO MUCH FUN!

http---makeagif.com--media-1-20-2015-YPVhor

This week Cloe’s highlight is…

Sushi!

Well, not all sushi, just the amazing sushi from Bento Boss! Bento Boss is a bit of a hidden gem of Bristol and lives at The Clifton Down Shopping Centre – not your first choice for sushi I’m sure. I’ve been here quite a few times and every time it’s been amazing. Last weekend Lawrence and I went for a cheeky Friday night dinner and I was fully reminded how great sushi is! We ordered a whole bunch of tasty morsels and even treated ourselves to a lobster roll, which I have to say was really moreishly good. Everything on the menu is prepared fresh in the open kitchen which makes it just that bit more special. That freshness is really worth the walk up the hill.

An extra plus point… You don’t feel like you’re going out for a naughty dinner because sushi is healthy! It’s worth saying they don’t just do sushi, they offer a full Japanese menu that will cater for most!

Yummy, yummy, yummy sushi for my tummy!

Yummy, yummy, yummy sushi for my tummy!

One final thing from me…. After Meg’s highlight a couple of weeks ago I went and did me some shopping on sheinside.com – that website is dangerous!

 

2 comments on “What we think is just nice this week…

  1. skinnedcartree
    January 29, 2015

    I love home made popcorn, it’s so nice with icing sugar when it’s still warm! Nom nom nom.

    Corinne x
    http://www.skinnedcartree.com

    • Cloe Grimsey
      January 29, 2015

      Icing sugar is genius! I know what I’m up to this weekend!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

