It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

Making something from nothing with Tricia Designs

Back in July I spotted an intriguing tweet from Women Outside The Box advertising a workshop where you could ‘make something, from nothing’! Now here at Its Just Nice we love a bit of craft so I jumped at the chance to get making!

So, on Monday 4th August my friend Beth and I made our way to  the Clifton Hill Costume and Textiles shop to meet Tricia from Tricia Designs and learn to make something from nothing! Our something from nothing was going to be making a lovely hair piece made from literally scrap fabric and old plastic lids!

Vintage in the basement

Vintage in the basement

Before we started we all had a little rummage in the Clifton Hill Costume and Textiles shop basement full of vintage! If you have not been here before then you should definite go and visit. It is a real treasure chest and total homage to vintage clothing in Bristol. It also has a great story because it used to be run by a very lovely old lady who owned the place for years. Since she past away, Jen, who used to work with her, has kept this amazing treasure chest open and given it quite a lovely make over. If you a fan of real vintage you must must must get yourself there! She really does have some very beautiful items!

Anyway, back to our night of crafting! We all chose a little scrap of fabric about 2 palm sizes – I chose a lovely bit of quite thick yellowly gold fabric with a black sewn in flowered pattern and Beth went for a very delicate bit of silk with a beautiful art deco type patten on.

Fabric and headbands ready to go.

Fabric and headbands ready to go.

After we picked we all sat down at the lovely table in the shop which was full of goodies such as feathers, buttons, beads and lots of other shiny things! Tricia started by showing us a couple of examples that she made before the night which I have to say where very impressive indeed. I was totally filled with hope that I might actually wear my creation!

The table full with goodies!

The table full with goodies!

Tricia gave us the choice between making a headband (in silver and black) or a comb (in small or medium). Beth and I both went for a handband. Time to get down to business starting with our base which was made from an old Pringle top – (This is our nothing!)

My base and headband

My base and headband

Tricia in action

Tricia in action

Tricia took us though he stages step by step and assisted in getting our creative juices running wild, or not so much in my case. She was also on hand to help with the sewing which I have to say is not a strong point for me but I got there in the end. All I can say is thank goodness for invisible thread! It may be a pain in the bum to to thread but it hide a multitude of bad sewing sins!

Getting crafty on a Monday night!

Getting crafty on a Monday night!

Overall we had a really good time and even though the course was only meant from 7pm to 9pm we where all still sat there sewing and chatting until about 10pm! Even after 3 hours I hadn’t quiet finished creating my master piece headband but Tricia had already planned for this and had little take a pack ready for us. She even filled it up with extra thread and few beads and buttons to make sure we finish them off at home and offered to help us more if we pop in next time she was in the shop! So very lovely of her!

My head piece being held together with pegs.

My head piece being held together with pegs.

The evening itself was really lovely and everything was supplied which makes it nice and easy. Plus its not something that you would normally do on a Monday night, but definitely worth it. Tricia is certainly a character and made us feel right at home! Her designs are inspired and I think I will be booking onto her jumper into a wool hat course later on in the year.

For more information and dates on upcoming workshops check out her Facebook page – www.facebook.com/TriciaDesigns

Also for more information on the Clifton Hill Costume ad Textiles shop check out their Facebook page too –  www.facebook.com/cliftonhillcostumeandtextiles

Beth modelling her headband!

Beth modelling her headband!

 

 

 

 

 

One comment on “Making something from nothing with Tricia Designs

  1. Tricia Designs
    August 19, 2014

    Thanks Cloe, This is a wonder blog. I look forward to seeing your hairpiece. I will help you when I am in the shop. Best wishes, Tricia

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

