It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week… (+ a sneaky recipe!)

This week the wonderful Meg and Frankie, as well as thousands of others (including half of Bristol) are living it up at Glastonbury! But us poor souls left behind at home still need to know what’s nice this week and we’re doing our best to oblige. So, how about instead of cider, music and general debauchery, we at home take an alternative route… Health and well being! Ok ok i’ll admit, we all know where we’d rather be, but I’ve been looking on the bright side and I’ve got some healthy lifestyle ideas for us all!

If you have though of anything just nice this week give us a tweet @Its_Just_Nice or comment on our Facebook page! #itsjustnice

Vx

This week Vicky’s highlight is…

Being healthy!

I returned from my trip last week and spent the first few days eating all of the scrumptious food I had missed so much being away! Namely, marmite, curry, tea, cheese and BBQ! After I’d filled my stomach to the brim it was time to jump on the scales and see what damage I had done to my body over the last 6 months… And I can tell you the outcome wasn’t pretty. I’d put on a hideous amount of weight so decided some healthy eating and major gym time was in order as penance.

image (1) copyFirst stop, THE GYM. Not everyones cup of tea, but sadly I’m not someone who enjoys running, preferring the sweaty indoor form of exercise. I rejoined Fitness For Less in the centre of Bristol. Offering a great (cheap) monthly contract and a ladies only section as well as classes from Zumba to Boxing, it’s really one of the only gyms I’ve ever felt comfortable in… Real women exercising hard and not trying to show off or look good doing it! So, I reached for my beautiful running trainers and have been hitting it hard ever since! You know what, regardless of what weight you feel you need to lose, a little exercise here and there really makes you feel all warm and lovely inside.

The second plan of attack for my new pot belly was some super low calorie eating. Now, I know that calorie counting isn’t a way to live your life, but in need of drastic action, I went in search of some super healthy yet filling recipes and the first one I tried turned out a treat! Make yourself this yummy, healthy and easy fish curry and I’ll tell you you’ll feel nothing but jammy for the next few days.

photo

 

Ingredients  

Serves 4 people (cook some brown rice on the side if you’re in need of that carb kick)

1 tsp vegetable oil

2 onions, finely sliced

2 inch piece of fresh root ginger

1 tsp turmeric

1 tsp ground coriander

1 tbsp medium curry paste

4 tomatoes, roughly chopped

400ml fish stock

200g raw peeled prawns

300g white fish (cod/haddock/pollack etc) chopped

200g frozen peas

salt and pepper to season

1. Heat the oil in a pan and add onions with a large pinch of salt cooking for about 15 minutes, or until soft. Stir in the ginger, turmeric, coriander and curry paste cooking for a minute.

2. Stir in the tomatoes and stock simmering for 5 minutes. Mix in the prawns, peas and fish cooking for 3-5 minutes or until the prawns are pink and opaque. DONE.

Enjoy kids!

20140627-125214-46334426.jpgThis week Cloe’s highlight is…

Jumping whole heartily into the Green Smoothie bandwagon!

I am a big advocate of being heathy – I train hard, I try to eat clean(ish) and I love a bit of a heathy trend. I have however have kind of kept my distance from the very popular trend of smoothies. This is mainly because just fruit smoothie made with milk etc are essentially just sugar. Yes it is sugar from fruit, but it’s still a heck of a lot in one go. Also, if you just ate the fruit that was in the smoothie you would get more from it as well as actually feeling full. Clearly I am a bit of a bore about these things.

This was until I started looking a little bit more into green smoothies – they are essentially smoothies made with lots of leafy greens and a bit of fruit. The great thing about these leafy greens is they are most concentrated source of nutrition of any food. They are rich in minerals, for example, iron, calcium, potassium and magnesium. They are also rich in vitamins – What is there not to love! By blending these all up with some tasty fruit you are 1. making it easier to get all this goodness into you and 2. if it blended its apparently gets absorbed (I am no dietician so please don’t hold me to this.)

Anyway, I shall write a post soon with some of my favorite recipes and get you all on the bandwagon too!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

