It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

The Redfest Challenge

Us It’s Just Nice girls love Bristol. We’re full on committed to her. We may see some other cities and countries on the side, but she’s the true love of our lives. Which is why we’re all about supporting our local communities and businesses.

I’ve lived North, South and now East Bristol, in Redfield. I love it here – it’s got everything I need. The Plough is 5 minutes away when I need to have a skank. Church Road has got some great independents like Dig In and the Southville Deli. Rajani’s literally has everything you’ll ever want to buy –  fact. And don’t even get me started on my love for the Sweetmart! It’s also got a lovely free festival called Redfest. It’s a free arts and music festival held in St George Park, this year on the 2nd of August, and it’s loads of fun. If you’ve been before, you already know how great it is. If you’ve not been, come and explore and find a new love.

Like us, Redfest is all about the love of Bristol and supporting the people within it which is why they’ve created the Redfest Challenge. The rules are pretty simple; cook a meal only buying ingredients from local independent shops. I was totally up for the challenge, here’s how I got on, if you want to take part you can find out how here.

What I decided to cook:
Slow cooked, Thai beef curry.

The ingredients I needed:
250g of beef brisket cut into thick chunks
Lemon grass stalk- half bashed, half roughly chopped
A clove of garlic- chopped
1 green chilli- roughly chopped
A 2cm chunk of root ginger- peeled and chopped
1 tin of coconut milk
2 table spoons of rice wine vinegar
2 table spoons of fish sauce
a heaed teaspoon of light brown sugar
A couple of glugs of groundnut oil
1 kaffir lime leaf
1 Star Anise
1 lime
Large bunch of coriander – half roughly chopped and some leaves for serving

photo (6)

Where I went:
I have a 9-5.30 job, but I don’t normally get out of the office until 6pm so sometimes it can be hard to get to the independent shops, as not all of them are open. I’m lucky where I live and most of the independent shops open late so I took a bit of a detour and went to Pak butchers and Sweetmart on St Marks Road, Easton.

I got my meat from Paks and everything else from the Sweetmart (blooming love the Sweetmart).

photo (5)

My method:

It’s a very simple dish to make this one. Brown your beef with some salt and pepper using a bit of the groundnut oil.
Make a paste with the bashed lemon grass, garlic, chili, ginger and glug of groundnut oil. I have a handy little chopper tool to make it all nice and fine and then I bashed it in my pestle and mortar with the oil to finish it off.

photo (7)
Heat the paste in a slow cooker and then add the beef, coconut milk, fish sauce and rice wine vinegar. Add the star anise and kaffir lime leaf. leave it to cook over night for 8 hours.

photo (9)
Next day, shred up your beef and add the lime juice. You’ll need to heat it up again and perhaps reduce it if it’s too runny.

photo (10)
Serve with rice, I chucked some coriander and a slice of lime to the top for good measure.

photo (11)

About frankieapples

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2014 by in Food and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

