It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

I am sure that none of you missed it, but it was St Paddy’s day on Monday which led to a bit of a bake off in our office. Megala baked some pretty bloody epic and massive cupcakes with a Bailey’s cream cheese topping and we were also treated to some lovely St Paddy’s day rainbow cupcakes complete with rainbow and pots of gold, as well as a lush Guinness and chocolate cake! I, however, went slightly off piste and went for some protein oat and raisin cookies… Not exactly fitting the brief but more of an experiment for personal gain!

I am very much hoping that Meg will give us a post on how to make those amazing cupcakes – they where bloody marvellous!

Anyway, if you have found anything Just Nice this week tweet us @Its_Just_Nice or comment on our Facebook page! #itsjustnice

This week Cloe’s highlight is…

20140319-150958.jpg

The first podium of the new F1 season

Getting F1 Sundays back!

Last weekend was ace! This was obviously down to the beautiful weather but more importantly it was because the Formula 1 season has finally started again! On Sunday morning I was like a child at Christmas, waking up early to watch it. My boyfriend said that getting up at 6am on a Sunday morning was a little too keen, so we compromised and started watching the race (on Sky+) at 7am. And it certainly didn’t disappoint. What a wonderful and mental way to start the season, which is hopefully going to be full of drama right from the word go! In short, for those of you who don’t know, or who aren’t that bothered, F1 this year have imposed new regulations which are one the biggest shake ups in the sport’s history. It’s all been about making it greener (by changing the engine), safer (higher front noses + lots of others) and more exciting to watch! So far it’s working for me.

This year I’m hope it’s going to be all about Lewis Hamilton and Mercedes, however, he didn’t even complete the first race because his car broke… very disappointing. But onwards and upwards for the next race in Malaysia which I’m already very excited about – I really think I should get out more…

All in all my F1 Sundays are back and I am a very happy girl!

This week Frankie’s highlight is…

The fact that my desk looks like this right now! (sorry not the best Picture, trying to work out how to do a panoramic thing…)

lamps

I’ve got my tea, my gorilla lamp and my gazelle lamp. I am a very happy lady. I love a bit of tat, I mean classy goods. Basically if you take a model of an animal and shove a lampshade on it I’m all over it. The Gorilla, Alfred (named after the famous Bristolian silver back who currently lives, stuffed, in the Bristol museum) is from Furniture Village- I run their social campaigns (so if you come and hate us on social remember it’s me you’re hating and also, for the record, it’s a really lovely company, actually!) Anyway, they used to sell this dude but discontinued him. No market for it, apparently. I said I thought that they were mad – if you agree let me know and we’ll start a social campaign to bring him back. The Gazelle, Gisele, is from a woman I work with called Cas who taught me how to eat porridge properly (with salt and honey) and that peanut butter is awesome on an apple, and now she gives me this! It’s fair to say that I now love her forever.

This week Meg’s highlight is…

funny-how-i-think-i-look-like-when-im-running-how-i-actually-picsGetting back into running.

I have a love/hate relationship with running. I love it, as it keeps me fit, it stops me from getting fat, and it gives me free reign to eat as much cheese as I like. I hate it because it means I have to drag my fat arse, which is most definitely NOT built for running, around town for the best part of 3-5 miles, depending on how energetic I’m feeling (or how much cheese I’m planning on eating.)

Over the past month the weather’s been better, so I’ve been making a concerted effort to get back out there and do some more outdoor running, and dya know what? So far, so good! I’m never going to be the world’s fastest runner, but I’ve recently discovered that all the hype about running with other people is true.

Whether I’m running with my Mum on a Saturday morning (with her whining about having a hangover the whole way round) or I’m running with the lovely group of ladies I work with, as long as I’m legging it round town with at least one other person I go further, I push myself more and ultimately, I look like much less of a tit!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

