It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

We are finally into March! The dark dreary black hole of January and February has finally gone and we have all come out the other side ready for the Spring to start! The nights are now noticeably lighter and with all of this mild weather it really seems like Spring is on it’s ruddy way. This makes me very happy!

Anyway, welcome back March! Its been a while but I’m super glad you’re back! If you lot are finding anything Just Nice this week tweet us @Its_Just_Nice or comment on our Facebook page! #itsjustnice

This week Cloe’s highlight is…

20140305-150632.jpgPancake day!!!

This might be an obvious choice for this week, but last night I went to see my friends Robyn and Mal and we had pancakes for dinner – which is probably no shocker, what with it being pancake day. But we meant business and we didn’t even mess around with trying to make savoury versions, we went straight to the sweet stuff! We essentially had dessert for dinner which was ace!

We had a lovely selection of toppings on offer; lemons, sugar, maple syrup, sliced banana and milk chocolate shavings! My favourite combination – maple syrup, banana, chocolate and a good squeeze of lemon. Talk about a sugar overload. Mal did all of the pancake making and flipping for us because he basically proved that he was a rock star at doing it. I had service with a smile all evening!

It has also got me thinking – why on only one day a year do we eat dessert for dinner? I want to make it a new monthly thing because do you know what – it’s just nice!

This week Meg’s highlight is…

A cappella Pizza!

photoAnother foodie related highlight from me this week, and trust me – this one is well worth shouting about. I wanted to do a full blog post about these guys, as they were so bloody wonderful, but I was so busy having a lovely time when we visited that I only took one picture (which isn’t the best!), and you can’t do a blog post with just one picture, can you?!*

Anyway – A capella Pizza in Totterdown – in short – you have to go. They’ve just won Trip Advisor’s Best Independent Pizzeria award (this is in the UK folks – not just Brizzle!) which can be added to their already impressive collection of awards. Their pizzas are without a doubt the best I’ve ever had in Bristol, and as if that wasn’t enough, the restaurant, atmosphere, service and value is amazing. And they let you bring your own booze!!!

We visited on Saturday night, and I honestly can’t fault it. We started with stuffed vine leaves – good start, as these were the best I’ve ever had. I then went for the Presto pizza (home made basil and rocket pesto, mozzarella, grated potato, artichokes, black olives and red onion – I then topped it off with chorizo!) and Will opted for the Vivaldi (four cheese, topped with Salami), and we finished off with gooey, delicious chocolate brownie and ice cream.  Including the cost of corkage, and a couple of soft drinks the bill came to just under £32! I don’t know about you, but I think that’s an absolute steal.

*my excuse of not having enough pictures is obviously just an excuse to back very, very soon!

This week Frankie’s highlight is….

The fact that it’s basically Spring. My boss asked mmom jeanse how I measured when Spring had began yesterday and I said “I sat outside for an hour the other day, without my coat on, and I was not cold.” It’s Spring people, throw away your winter coats, you don’t need them any more! Roll out your pastel shades (macaroon not ice cream, apparently), throw on some spots and stripes, and dig out some slim mom jeans.  I purchased these beauts from River Island and although I look like I belong in an early 90’s all girl pop group, I am totally digging them! I shall be mostly wearing them this Spring/summer with little crop tops, SHOCKER!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

