It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

The sun has been shining – well, it was this morning – and the weather has been kind of sweet (when it’s not raining or being really cold!) But I think we all have to admit that we have been treated over the last few days with some truly lovely winter weather. When the sun is out and the air is so crisp that it leaves you with a cold nose, it makes me realise what a lush city we live in! Bristol is beautiful and in these darker months I always like to remember that. It has so many little pockets to explore and what better excuse than a sunny day to go for a wonder around really looking and enjoying the city we live in.

Anyway, after that big gushy intro lets get on with the task in hand and fill you all in on what we think is just nice this week! Let us know what you think is ‘Just Nice’ this week by tweeting @Its_Just_Nice or comment on our Facebook page! #itsjustnice

This week Cloe’s highlight is…

Instagram!

I am late to the party once again, but do you know what? I just don’t care!

20140122-105929.jpg

One of my Instagram pictures of the beautiful Park Street

This week I have finally started using Instagram properly, not just making blog photos look nice (which I have done A LOT of). And I am loving it! I can’t stop ranting about how ace it is. As you probably already know, it’s like the visual version of Twitter. You get to have an insight into other peoples lives that are all around the world, doing all different things – it blows my mind! You could argue that I have spent a little bit too long thinking about this all, but basically Instagram is great, especially if you’re nosey! All of this is thanks to my best friend and owner of Burnt Soul – her feed is probably more interesting than mine! 

If you would like to see what my life is like (or what I would like my life to look like) then I am @littleponder – be warned, I like a good photo filter and light effect!

This week Meg’s highlight is…

strongisthenewskinnyBrace yourself people, because this may make me sound like a proper tit. My current highlight is…lifting weights!

I know, I know…this sounds so totally naff that I’m cringing even writing it but I felt the need to share, as switching up my workout routine really has made the world of difference.

I’ve never been particularly sporty, as I crept into my mid 20’s I started to realise that I couldn’t drink countless pints of cider without putting on a few pounds, so I decided to get fit. In typical Noob style I hit the gym, ran on the treadmill, flapped around on the cross trainer, and generally avoided the weights section at all costs – I did NOT want to get bulky.

However, having gradually educated myself in the ways of clean eating, I’ve started to think more about how my body works, and most importantly, how it burns calories. Did you know that for every pound of muscle you gain, your body will burn an extra 50 calories a day. A pound of muscle isn’t hard to gain, and think of how many extra calories that is a year!

In short, if you’re trying to tone up for 2014 then get on the weights. Since incorporating weights into my workout routine I’ve lost inches and my clothes fit much better, and I ain’t going to complain about that!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

