It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

The Friday Chair Dancer

We did it people! We got through the first full working week of the New Year unharmed! Yes, we maybe more exhausted than we’ve ever been, and yes, we may be looking forward to sleeping for the whole entire weekend, but there’s always a little bit of energy left to celebrate the arrival of Friday, beautiful Friday, with a little chair dance!

Here’s what we’ve been listening to to get us through the most depressing week of the year. If we’re totally honest with ourselves it really wasn’t that bad, and guess what – things can only get better!

Happy Friday you beauties!

Mx

This week Meg’s been chair dancing to…

International, by Chase and Status.

I bought the new Chase and Status album, Brand New Machine, with my Christmas iTunes vouchers. I expected it to be good, because everything Chase and Status do is really good, but I didn’t expect it to be quite this good.

This song came on in my car for the first time literally blew my mind. It’s less DnB than their usual stuff, and it has a real Dub/Reggae feel to it. Basically I’m totally obsessed and I reckon you should give it a listen!

This week Frankie’s been chair dancing to…

Buraka Som Sistema. I can’t get enough of these guys. They are right up my street, global bass with loads of energy, playing heavily on their cultural roots while mixing it seamlessly with more European sounds (they are a little bit techno and if you know me personally you’ll know the German side of me loves the techno, the rest of me like techno too actually. I like techno).

They are based in Portugal but their musical roots are grown from Kuduro and Zouk (I sound like I know what I’m talking about here, I don’t, I’ve been researching them) they are also credited with creating Zouk Bass. Whatever you want to call their style of music, I like it. It makes me feel happy. They also did the best remix of Major Lazer’s “Bruk Out” fact. Here’s one good track for them “Voodoo Love” but check them out on Soundcloud

3 comments on “The Friday Chair Dancer

  1. Elisabeth Winkler
    January 11, 2014

    Yes, it was harsh cranking up again. Holidays are risky. Perhaps we need more of them so we can learn to adjust better.

    • Meg Pope
      January 11, 2014

      Haha! We’d vote for that! But it does make sitting in bed right now with a cuppa feel even better though, right?!

  2. Elisabeth Winkler
    January 11, 2014

    Hey, Voodoo Love sure helps cranking-up process. Goooooood.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2014 by in Music and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

