It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

The weather has finally turned into full on winter mode and wow, doesn’t that wind have some bite! Its like I forgot how cold it gets and we haven’t even started getting into the minus figures yet…I’m bracing myself for a cold one!

However I do kinda want it to snow – snow seems to cause mayhem, but a fun mayhem where people slide to work down Park Street and make snowmen! It’s all very jolly and I really do love it! With the weather getting just that much colder it also means it is now acceptable to drink hot alcoholic drinks! We’re finally back into mulled wine season where hot cider and hot apple juice and Pimms should be mandatory! Mmmmmm hot cider…

If you have done something this week that is ‘Just Nice’ let us know by tweeting @Its_Just_Nice or comment on our Facebook page! #itsjustnice

20131120-143346.jpgThis week Cloe’s highlight is…

Bacon Jam!!!

Last weekend I got my cook on and made our lovely Meg’s bacon jam (check out the recipe here) and it is AMAZING and sooooo addictive! I have to say I was slightly sceptical to start with, meat jam… really. But after finding a recipe on my beloved Pinterest to make bacon jam and brie filled pretzel rolls, I knew I had to crack on and make it! (I will be making the pretzel rolls later this week for a friend’s birthday – we’re doing a little version of bake off – I’m excited) And what a good decision making it was – this stuff is seriously tasty and I have been struggling not eating it just out the jar with a tea spoon! This is now a winter must (like hot cider) and I will probably have to whip up another batch so I can actually fill my pretzel rolls later in the week!

This week Meg’s highlight is…

I’ve already warned you all about this, so I take absolutely no responsibility for anyone getting pissed off, but my highlight this week is being legitimately allowed to get excited about Christmas!

There are now just 35 days until the big day (that’s not many people!) so haters, sorry, but you’re going to have to wind your necks in now – the Christmas hype is a go-go!

This year I’m particularly excited about Christmas as I’ve been landed with the HUGE responsibility of cooking Christmas dinner. I say ‘landed’ – I’ve been volunteering for years, so it’s hardly a chore, but this year my Mum has finally handed over the reins, so I’m in charge. And true to form, I’m planning for it by curating a Pinterest board!

You can check out my Christmas Pinterest board here, but below are a couple of my picks of the best festive themed pins that Pinterest has to offer.

If this isn't enough to make you feel festive then there's something wrong with you...

If this isn’t enough to make you feel festive then there’s something wrong with you…

I'm lucky enough to have inherited a pair of antlers recently, and I'll definitely be doing this!

I’m lucky enough to have inherited a pair of antlers recently, and I’ll definitely be doing this!

Black cherry, chocolate and espresso meringue - this is on the menu on my Christmas table this year!

Black cherry, chocolate and espresso meringue – this is on the menu on my Christmas table this year!

Nifty solution for smart wrapping - simple black wrapping with personalised white pen - love it.

Nifty solution for smart wrapping – simple black wrapping with personalised white pen – love it.

Couldn't forget the crowning glory of the Christmas table! I've earmarked this recipe from BBC Good Food for mine.

Couldn’t forget the crowning glory of the Christmas table! I’ve earmarked this recipe from BBC Good Food for mine.

And not forgetting the cocktails! I like the sound of these Ginger and Cucumber Gin Fizz cocktails!

And not forgetting the cocktails! I like the sound of these Ginger and Cucumber Gin Fizz cocktails!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

