It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

Top 5 essentials for Autumn/Winter!

There is certainly no denying it – Autumn/Winter is finally here and Wow, hasn’t it come with a sting in it’s tail! That wind has certainly been cutting, but I have to say I love the beautifully sunny, fresh mornings.

Autumn/Winter dressing and fashion is ace because you can’t  beat a bit of layering. It also means I get to start wearing all of my beautiful coats and boots which are probably my prize possessions! I think Lawrence (my boyfriend) would certainly agree… (I may use our spare room as a coat and shoes room!)

Anyway, with the seasons changing and the hot cider heating up I thought I would list our top 5 essentials that every girl needs to get though the long winter! I feel a good excuse to go shopping coming on…

1. Winter Coat!

In at Number One of course we have the most essential item that every girl needs –  a fantastic winter coat. There are several great styles that are very wearable floating around this year – the most popular being the oversized coat. These little beauties are fantastic because you can layer up underneath and still look fabulous. I personally like doing the two jacket trick – I wear a fitted biker jacket underneath then put my oversized over the top!

GapCoatMy top pick for an oversized would be the M&S pink coat (two trends in one; oversized and pastel), which I have to mention the beautiful Frankie does own, but my top pick is going to be this colour block number from Gap that is £99.95.

I love everything about this! It’s classic in shape, slightly fitted (so more flattering), has a pop of colour and its one that’s going to last you for a few more seasons.

The most important things to remember when investing this year;

  • Spending a little more than planned is ok… this coat will be representing you a lot this year! (It’s going to be a cold one!)
  • Go for something you feel great in – that doesn’t necessarily mean mega fashionable. By being confident you will look ace.
  • Do a bit of research – there is so many amazing styles this year so take a bit of time to do a recce!

I have to admit I do have several wonderful winter coats, but I think there is always room for one more!

A couple of my other top picks would be;

asosvintagestyle

ASOS Vintage Style Cocoon Coat – £110

Zara checked Coat with Pockets - £129

Zara checked Coat with Pockets – £129

2. Great Pair of booties!

Picking everyday shoes can sometimes not feel as exciting as picking our going out and party shoes – they always seems to be slightly less glittery! However, this year has been amazing for our everyday booties and all stores have seemed to deliver some real beauties!

ShillingBootWith so many lush styles out there its been really hard just picking one! But I’ve manned up and stopped poring over pages and pages of wonderful boots, and have gone for Carvela Kurt Geiger Shilling boot, in at £150. These have a great wearable heel, so your feet are not going to ache after wearing them all day, they have a very sleek cut out side, which somehow seems a little cheeky and they have a bit of a biker girl, tough girl edge which is bang on for this year!

I think you’ll find it hard to go wrong with anything from Kurt Geiger – I may have recently treated myself to these little beauties! – they are defiantly worth taking a look over and you can currently get 20% off new styles by using STS20.

A couple of my other top picks would be;

NewLookBoot

Tan Leather Stud Buckle High Leg Boots – £79.99

Panel Twist Lock Boot - £40.

Panel Twist Lock Boot – £40.

3. Chunky Knit

I always seem to struggle on the jumper front… Finding a nice jumper is a task that stresses me out a little. Do you go for nice thick number so it keeps you warm when you’re outside, but then risk overheating once you’re back indoors, or do you go for a light knit that lets that cold air hit you right in the chest when you’re outside, but is somewhat more comfortable when your back indoors… Jumpers also seem to be a little on the pricey side too!

cableknitWell I’ve found a great ‘in-the-middle’ solution in this little  chunky cable-knit from H&M. At only £14.99 it’s not going to break the band, and I can confirm that it is really nice! I’ve got the grey version, which is shown, and I was surprised at how nice it was for the price. It does a great job of keeping me warm and doesn’t over heat me when I’m back in the heating. In fact, I have it on order in light blue! You have to love a winter pastel and a bit of a bargain!

A couple of my other top picks would be;

Minkpink Street Art Jumper from Urban Outfitters - £65

Minkpink Street Art Jumper from Urban Outfitters – £65

New Look Grey Folk Fluffy Jumper - £24.99

New Look Grey Folk Fluffy Jumper – £24.99

4. Party Dress

Every girl needs a great party dress for the fast approaching Christmas party season! The silly season as I like to call it!

littlemistressThis year I reckon it should be all about the sparkles, texture and glamour – actually, when should it not be all about that! Think sequins, metallics, faux leather, real leather, shine, cut outs and all lengths! This year basically anything goes, as long as you’re making some sort of statement!

Personally, I’m loving faux leather (check out my pic below) but I reckon you can’t go wrong with a major bit of glamour. This stunner and fully embellished bodycon by Little Mistress, found on ASOS, hits the mark for me. Its very reasonably priced at £70 and because of the lovely long sleeves you aren’t going to freeze to death when you’re outside. With that much embellishment you’re certainly going to light up the dance floor!

My top tip… I love a long sleeve on your party dress. I think it adds a touch of class and there is something very sexy about not getting it all out!

A couple of my other top picks would be;

SkaterLeatherLook

ASOS Skater Dress In Leather Look – £35

Topshop Limited Edition Tie Back Maxi Dress - £195

Topshop Limited Edition Tie Back Maxi Dress – £195

5. Statement Necklace

This is a girl’s best friend and can turn even the most simple outfit into a bit of a stunner! I reckon that this year everyone must own one, especially because when we are in the depths of deepest darkest winter everyone needs to have a little bit of sparkly goodness!

ZaraNecklaceThe statement necklace has the ability to make even the simplest of outfits seem somewhat outrageous!  They look perfect over your winter knits and long sleeve tops and remember to keep your eyes peeled for some neon love.

My pick for this has been pretty easy to be honest… I am currently having a love affair with all things Zara and I think this statement necklace from them ticks all of the boxes for me! At the ace price of £22.99 it deserve to just be bought!

A couple of my other top picks would be;

ASOS Jewelled Dream Necklace - £60

ASOS Jewelled Dream Necklace – £60

River Island Scarab Beetle Gem Stone Necklace - £60

River Island Scarab Beetle Gem Stone Necklace – £60

So basically go crazy this year and kit yourself out for before you have to spend all of your money on other people’s Christmas presents!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

