It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

The Friday Chair Dancer…

Today is obviously a very special day, because it’s Friday. It’s also Friday 13th, if you want to get all weird and superstitious on us, but to be honest anyone who goes out of their way to avoid a black cat, or any any cat for that matter, is a weirdo in my books. Anyway…I digress.

The reason that today is so special is that it’s our very own Cloe, aka @littleponder’s birthday today!

Cloe is, and always has been, the driving force behind It’s Just Nice, ever since the day she drunkenly decided to buy the domain name! As she’s alluded to at times on the blog, she’s had a tough old year, but in true Cloe style, she’s always styled it out, remaining amazingly positive, upbeat and generally just shiny and lovely against all odds.

So to celebrate Cloe’s birthday we’re dedicating this week’s chair dancer to her in the best way that we know how – with Daft Punk!

Those of you that know her will know all about Cloe’s love of the digital duo, but for those of you who don’t, Cloe’s the girl who once famously said “There was no music before Daft Punk – fact.” I for one, am not going to argue with that, so I hope you’ll join us in having a special celebratory chair dance this week to say “Happy Birthday Clo – you bloody babe!”

This week Meg’s chair dancing to…

Right a couple of things, because I just can’t choose.

First up – Robot Rock!

This track is from the Human After All EP, and takes me right back to the days of working in Topshop, when this song felt like it was played on loop for about a year. I’m not complaining – it’s a banger.

Secondly…Technologic.

This track, weirdly, reminds me of my Dad. My Dad is a seriously musical man, with impeccable taste, but when it comes to anything electro, it’s normally my Mum who’s bouncing round the kitchen at Christmas going “I love drum and bass!”  However, when I first started DJing, it was my Dad who stopped me mid-mix one evening and said “What the hell is this – I love it!”

The track in question was Technologic, and I ended up having a lengthy discussion with my Dad about French House, and how much he loved it! Great taste Dad!

Finally…this gorgeous mash up of Adele and Daft Punk by Carlos Serrano.

I came across this a few years ago, and it always ends up being my go to if I need a nice wind down track after a hectic day. I don’t really need to sell it too much as ‘Adele’ and ‘Daft Punk’ says it all really!

This week Frankie’s chair dancing to…

I love this chair dancer theme! Like Cloe, I am a big Daft Punk fan, for a long time the only music I really listened to was French house. Things have moved on a little bit since then and I now love music from all over the world so my choice this week is a fusion of two of my passions- French house and Dancehall in the form of a rather wonderful rework of Get Lucky called “Plucky” by Busy Signal. I understand that plucky is a game, no idea how it is played. I love a bit of Busy and I hope that Cloe likes this take on the Daft punk theme! Also I love the way that Busy kind of shouts “Gyal!” I’d do it myself but that just would not work. Also, best line “Gyals bubbeling in al direction” sounds amazing…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2013 by in Music and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

