It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

I’m bracing myself for the backlash on this statement, but I’m going to come and out and say it anyway.

I’m really excited about it being Autumn. There – I said it.

I’m sure I’m not the only one who feels this way, but I genuinely really love it when the weather starts to turn, the nights start to draw in and there’s a bit of a chill in the morning when you leave the house. In reality I think we all know that Summer’s been and gone, so shake that denial, pack the flip flops away for another six months and let’s embrace Autumn with open arms!

This week Meg’s weekly highlight is…

logoThe Great British Bake Off.

Oh Bake Off!  How we missed you! And how very, very happy we all are to have you back on our screens.

BBC2’s surprise hit show, The Great British Bake Off, hit our screens a few years ago, and ever since what feels like the whole country has descended into a pastry induced hour of joy every Tuesday night at 8pm. That’s certainly the vibe in my house anyway.

We’re now a few weeks in, so we’ve managed to whittle out the shoddy bakers (that woman who made the tomato loaf for her show stopper in Bread week? Come off it!) and we can get down to the good stuff.

My favourites so far are psychologist Kimberley (that chicken, bacon and butternut squash filo pie she made last night looked unbelievable!) and 20 year old student Ruby, who as well as being an amazing baker also has EXACTLY the same voice as our very own Cloe!

Top all of this off with the comedy duo of the century, Mel and Sue, and the two best judges to ever grace the world of reality TV, Paul Hollywood and Mary Berry, and you’ve got a recipe for the perfect Tuesday night in.

This week Cloe’s weekly highlight is…

20130904-145520.jpgSimply living in Bristol!

Now I’m sure I don’t need to give this one the hard sell and it may seem like a little bit of an odd thing to choose as just a weekly highlight, but I don’t feel like I say it enough – I bloody love living in Bristol!It’s such an ace city to be in!

I’ve recently moved just off Whiteladies near the BBC, which means I have so many lush little places on my door step. Lots of lovely little independents and it’s such a pretty little pocket of Bristol to live in!

I do however feel like I must warn you – I have been having a bit of a major love in with everything this week*, hence the general loving living in Bristol! But when you really take the time to think how lucky we are to live in such a varied and beautiful city it does make you feel ‘gurt lush’ on the inside! I can also certainly confirm that my loving has spread into email this week and that the three of us have been giving each other some major email loving too!

(The picture was taken on my lovely morning bus ride into work!)

*apart from the cold

This week Frankie’s weekly highlight is…

pink coatBoth of the above! I wasn’t all that into Bake Off to begin with though and it was Meg who really turned me onto it. I’m not even sure why I didn’t go for it? I love food and I like watching people get really emotional over a soggy bottom. And Brissle! Well, I don’t even know where to start with her, she’s lush and I’ll never cheat on her, although I may venture to pastures new, she’ll always welcome me back with a pint of cider when I want to say hello.

But, my actual highlight this week is far more materialistic….it’s my autumn/winter wardrobe. I’ve been loving the summer months and anyone that knows me will know that I’m all about the “wear it high” look- that’s short shorts and copped tops but I always enjoy this time of year for a bit of a change! Actually, thinking about it, my wardrobe for the winter months isn’t that different, it’s still all about wearing things on my waist but now I get to wear more stuff! I’ve been scouting already and a shop that is coming out on top for me is actually M&S, I am loving their new range and I need everything from this image, especially the coat! (PS I didn’t go and buy anything at lunch, I can’t afford it, alright I bought one thing, two things, I BOUGHT A WHOLE NEW OUTFIT SHUT UP AND LEAVE ME ALONE).

3 comments on “What we think is just nice this week…

  1. Sarah Louise Ashworth
    September 11, 2013

    The above coat. It’s delish. It’s from M&S. And only £80. Waiting list though x

    • frankieapples
      September 11, 2013

      Better put my name down then! x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 11, 2013 by in It's Just Nice and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

