It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

The Cowshed for Lunch!

A couple of weeks ago it was my step dad’s 60th birthday and he made the trip to Bristol so we could celebrate it together! This called for a nice lunch out for the two of us. After having a little think of where would be rather lovely I remembered that The Cowshed, on Whiteladies, was on my hit list and this seemed like a very fitting opportunity to go.

At lunch they run a menu which is three courses for £10. A jolly bargain which we of course snapped up in a heartbeat! They do have a larger lunch a la carte menu but to be honest the choice on the £10 deal is very nice with a good selection of all three courses and they of course cater for veggies as well as the carnivores out there.

The portions themselves are quiet small, however I would say they are certainly perfectly formed. It is a lunch menu after all and I personally would rather enjoy three small course’s then one large main. That way it means you get a little taste of everything! To start I went with asparagus with hollandaise and my step dad chose the ribs. My asparagus was beautifully cooked but I have to say that when I go back I am certainly going to order the ribs – they where meat falling off the bone tender and melt in the mouth tasty!

For mains I chose the goats cheese and red onion tart tatin, which is served with a little side salad and a balsamic glaze, and my step dad went for one of the specials which was meat balls with penne. When both dishes arrived I did think they did look a little shrunken down in size, however it turns out they where both perfectly filling and didn’t leave us with that slightly boated piggy feeling. My little tart really was very good! There was plenty of filling and the peppery salad on the side was perfect. I was also assured that the meatballs and penne was a good one.

20130822-162212.jpg

20130822-162204.jpg

For pudding (my favourite course) I went for the chocolate bread and butter pudding and my step dad went for the cheese board. My little pudding was served with a little vanilla custard and of course again was lovely – there is nothing quiet like eating a little bit of a nostalgic pudding, although this one was certainly an upgrade for the school version that I used to eat! The cheese board certainly went down well too.

20130822-162237.jpg

20130822-162229.jpg

Overall we had a very lovely, leisurely lunch. The service was good, however this is not the place to come if you are just looking for a quick eat as the whole meal did take the best part of 2 hours. I would certainly encourage anyone to go and take advantage of this lovely little lunch time treat.

The next thing for me is to go and try the dinner menu!

Take a look at all of there menu’s by visiting their site – http://thecowshedbristol.com/

One comment on “The Cowshed for Lunch!

  1. Pingback: The It’s Just Nice Little Black Book of Bristol! | It's Just Nice

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2013 by in Food and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

