It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

So far I think this week has been one of those nothing weeks… The kind of week that just passes you by where nothing is really good or really bad. However, as ever, we would like to jolly you all up and share some of our Just Nice’s of the week on this ‘kinda-a-bit-rubbishy’ rainy afternoon!

If you have some Just Nicer’s this week that you fancy sharing give us a tweet@Its_Just_Nice or comment on our Facebook page! #itsjustnice

On a side note the dream team are coming over to my gaff later on to suffer some of my cooking, watch a bit of master chef and eat some popcorn – I reckon its going to be just nice!

This week Meg’s highlight is…

mumThe little things in life that we all too often take for granted.

This is going to come across as super soppy, but after a hectic start to the week I arrived at breaking point last night, and do you know what the only solution was for my mid-week crisis? A glass of wine and a chat with my Mum.

I’m very lucky to have a great relationship with my Mum, and in short – she’s pretty bad ass. She goes to Glastonbury every year, told me that Tun Up by Jus Now was “the best song she’d heard in ages” when I first played it to her, and dresses better than me most of the time. She can also drink anyone I know under the table, but maybe that’s not something she’ll want me broadcasting.

But despite all of this I sometimes take it for granted that she’s literally always there. I reckon I could phone her, pissed as fart, at 4 in the morning and she’d have the right answer to whatever drunken question I was asking her. Last night, I phoned her just for a rant, and she sat and listened, and somehow, managed to make me feel completely normal again.

I guess my point is, it’s nice every now and again to sit back and take stock and really appreciate the people who keep our heads screwed on because without them, where the hell would we be?!

P.S – Special big ups to my lovely Dad too – they’re both as great as each other, but Mum’s just got better music taste!

This week Frankie’s highlight is…

The Coach House Shack – Stapleton Rd.

I was left to fend for myself this weekend as my boyfriend went off to Boomtown to have all of the fun! It was actually rather lovely as I can’t remember the last time I had a bit of time to myself with nothing to do. And what did I do? Drank too much red wine, got me nails done, went and laughed at people in Bedminster, standard really. But there’s only so much fun to be had counting the number of wolfs on items of clothing that one person can have, so I was very pleased when Klynton called to say he was coming home and that we were going to the Coach House Shack to get take-away.

If you have not heard of the Coach House Shack, it is a Jamaican take-away outlet and it’s (and for once, I’m not exaggerating) the best Jamaican take away I’ve had in Bristol. I should do a full review on them because they are really that good. I’m a big fan of curry goat so I normally go for that but actually it’s their jerk chicken that is there speciality.  We also tried their oxtail this weekend but I forgot to ask for festivals which is a shame as I bloody love those tasty little dumplings.

If you’re scared of going to Stapleton road, get over it, this food is too tasty to miss out on! Oh and sorry no images (I’m too shy to take photos in case I look like a dork) and there isn’t a website that I can find.

This week Cloe’s highlight is…

20130814-161605.jpgThe Bristol Balloon Fiesta that happened over the weekend.

I may have not technically actually visited the site – the idea of just getting there was far too much to warrant the stressful journey there and back – but I certainly still got to enjoy it!

I ended up going to a BBQ on Jacob’s Well Road which really did have the most stunning views of all of the balloons. It was such a treat to have the amazing balloons in the sky and enjoy a bit of ace BBQ. A fantastically easy and stress free way of getting to enjoy it!

Over the weekend itself I also got to see the Red Arrows (which are my favourite bit) as they where flying close to my flat – The joy of living on Whiteladies! All in all I think it’s the best way of getting to enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

