It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

I’m going to be honest… I’m not really impressed with this rather grey August we have had so far… I have kinda been banking my hopes on that the beautiful hot weather was set to continue and summer was fully committed to staying around! Now I know that we have been spoilt this year with the glorious sunshine and that it isn’t exactly that cold at the moment, but I’m a spoilt brat and would really love the good weather to please return – I did ask nicely!

Anyway enough of my moany joeness and let’s crack on with what we have been finding just nice this week! And of course we always like to know what you’ve been enjoying, so give us a tweet@Its_Just_Nice or comment on our Facebook page! #itsjustnice

This week Cloe’s highlight is…

Cotham Sandwich CoThe Cotham Sandwich Co. This week probably is my favourite just nice of the whole year! I have kept a bit of a lid on this, like a closely guarded secret, but with this wonderful establishment about to open it’s doors in the centre, it can stay a secret no more! I am of course talking about the Cotham Sandwich Co – officially my favourite weekly treat!

I have to admit I think that I had one nearly every week for the last 6 months or so! Their sandwiches really are amazing and don’t even get me started on their incredible home-made cakes! Last week I had an individual banoffee tart which tasted like heaven had opened it gates for me! My usual is a coronation chicken flatbread with jalapeño peppers and my boyfriend, Lawrence, is obsessed with the pulled pork. It is officially my weekly highlight and I am not going to lie, it has been my weekly highlight for quite some time now!

It’s important to note that no trip would be complete to the Sandwich Co if you didn’t come out with one of their incredible home-made soft boiled scotch eggs – the trip there is worth them alone! They also offer a veggie option of the scotch egg which I can confirm is amazing! It’s sometimes even a toss up between traditional or veggie and more often than not I throw caution to the wind and just buy both! They have plenty of pictures on Twitter to tempt you!

So now the really good part for all you city centre workers…they are opening a sister shop called Sandwich Sandwich under Bridge House on Baldwin Street. Trust me you are all in for a mega treat!

You can follow them on twitter @CothamSandwich and  @mmmSandwich to get updates and they are certainly well worth a visit! Wow, I feel better now the secret it out – enjoy!

This week Frankie’s highlight is…

turbo

It’s no secret that us girls love a bit of Bristol. We love Bristol so hard we might as well all start wearing stovepipe tops hats, move into Cabot Tower, live on a diet solely consisting of pieminister pies and cider, change our names to Bristol and use these three words in every sentence “babber (s)” “gert” and “lush”. Failing that, we could just keep an eye on this highly amusing Facebook page called “Bristol memes“.

I’ve been loving it a lot this week and I encourage you all to go and like them. Oh, they do hate on Bedminster quite a bit and as someone who currently resides in Bedmo i’m allowed to say “listen, a lot of people that live in Bedmo are odd. Deal with it, get over it, embrace the crazy! Oh, and Southville does not count as Bedminster, get it right North/East siders.” Enjoy it me babbers, it be gert lush!

This week Meg’s weekly highlight is…

Orange is the new blackOrange is the new black – the latest American drama/comedy series on Netfilx!

Now I know I’m not alone on this one, as a lot of people I’ve spoken to recently about this particular weekly highlight have gone “OH MY GOD it’s BRILLIANT!” but can I just say…OH MY GOD – IT’S SO GOOD!

If you haven’t jumped on this bandwagon yet then here’s a quick background. Piper Chapman is the all-American girl, engaged to a sensible guy with a good job and a lovely life. However, when her shady past as a drug trafficking lesbian comes out of the woodwork, she finds herself facing 15 months in jail.

The series follows Piper as she gets to grips with the pecking order in jail, and it’s hilarious, emotional and pretty damn dark, all in equal measures.

Why this has only been released on Netflix is totally beyond me, as it sucks you in to the extent that you’be watched 8 episodes without even knowing it, so if you like a bit of dark comedy get involved. What’s more it’s a great replacement for Game of Thrones – not so many battles, but plenty of boobs!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Top Rated

