It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

URGH! Back to reality!

After an utterly marvellous five days at the mother of all festivals, Glastonbury, I’m finding it ever so slightly difficult to re-adjust to ‘real life’. Yesterday’s trip to Sainsbury’s was something of an ordeal, and today’s visit to the gym (the first post Glasto) was a struggle – I could practically smell the cider in my sweat.

But it’s not all bad – I’m very glad to be sleeping in a proper bed again, and the concept of showering daily is still pretty novel. That said, I don’t think I’ll be able to wash the glitter out of my hair for at least another fortnight, but do you know what? I don’t really mind!

Here’s what’s been perking us up and making our post Glastonbury blues that little bit more bearable!

Mx

Meg’s weekly highlight is…

James Blake!

I’ve always been partial to a bit of James Blake, but his gorgeously spooky tones have been soothing away my Glasto come-down like an absolute dream this week.

We caught a bit of his set at the festival on Sunday evening, and I can confirm that he sounds 100% as good live as he does on his tracks, if not better.

I’m definitely a bit late to the party with this track, Retrograde, but I really can’t get enough of it. And yes @jackfilose – I know you sent it to me months ago…you’re cooler than me, ok?!

Frankie’s weekly highlight is…

The old bookshop, Southville

Well, I think it’s more the fact that I met some lovely friends in the old bookshop last night and drank too much red wine but this place is still pretty special. If you have not been yet, go. If you live in the South you’ve almost certainly been. You will know that they do great tapas, have great wine, put on loads of live music and have covered their walls with amazing prints, taxidermy, random crockery and more. You may not know that they are expanding and are getting a small garden and that if you ask for a plate because “I really like it” they might just give it to you.

The Old Bookshop

(sorry this is short my brain doesn’t work after Glasto, it’s a bloody marvel I’ve even typed this.)

2 comments on “What we think is just nice this week…

  1. Valentina
    July 3, 2013

    Great night at the bookshop indeed. All the drinks are soooo moorish and when the company is that great how can you not stay for a couple more!

  2. frankieapples
    July 5, 2013

    Ah thanks love! 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

