It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

BaoWow Bristol

I’ve worked on Baldwin Street in the centre of Bristol for nearly three years now, and every morning on my way to work I walk past the same bank of sad, newspapered up old restaurants. They’ve been shut down for so long now that they’re practically invisible – they just seem to blend into the background. So a few weeks ago, when I noticed that the newspaper had come down, and there was movement in one of them, I made a mental note to keep an eye on it.

What sprung up (in a surprisingly short space of time) was BaoWow. Now for those of you in the know the clue as to what they do is in the name, but I didn’t have the foggiest. Being the nosey cow that I am I decided to go and ask, so let me share my new found wisdom with you.

A Bao (pronounced “bow”, as in “cow”) is a Chinese steamed bun, which is sliced and filled with all sorts of fillings. They can be sweet or savoury, but BaoWow is sticking with savoury, with their filling options including shredded spicy chicken, sticky BBQ pork and my favourite, Hoi Sin duck. For just £6 you can get your choice of two filled Baos, which is more than enough for lunch.

Sticky pork Baos

Sticky pork Baos

But don’t think that the choice stops with Baos at BaoWow. They have a large range of rice and noodle dishes, and much to my excitement, a selection of Pho; noodle soup! I’ve been a bit obsessed with noodle soup ever since I tried Chill Daddies at St Nick’s Friday food market, and I’m now obsessed with BaoWow’s version. I’m not sure quite how healthy a generous helping of noodle soup is (and these are VERY generous) but there’s something very virtuous and home cooked about it. Packed full of chill, coriander and Chinese greens, and with a whopping portion of your chosen meat or Tofu, it’s real comfort food. At just £5 it’s pretty reasonable too.

Spicy Chicken Noodle Soup

Spicy Chicken Noodle Soup

I’m reliably informed by Gemma from Bristol Foodie that the team behind BaoWow are the same people who run The Thai Kitchen at The Old Fish Market, which would explain why everything tastes so fresh and authentic. It also means I now have a little fantasy about them running both kitchens via a complex network of tunnels below St Nick’s, but I think that probably says more about my over-active imagination than anything else!

Anyway, the point is that BaoWow are brilliant, and are a long overdue addition to the Bristol foodie scene – as far as I’m concerned anyway!

4 comments on “BaoWow Bristol

  1. nettski
    May 29, 2013

    Can’t wait to try this place! Too many good places to choose from in Bristol nowadays!

    • Meg Pope
      May 29, 2013

      Couldn’t agree more – we’re so lucky with all of the ace places to eat in Bris! I know I’ve waffled on about it already, but can’t recommend BaoWow enough – so tasty!

      • nettski
        May 29, 2013

        I need to do a round-up of the best tapas and street food offerings soon – already done a summary of some of the meaty places in Bris and best roasts too if you want to check them out, still finding my way with the blog though! http://nettastrophe.wordpress.com/category/food/

      • Meg Pope
        May 29, 2013

        Oooh we’ll look forward to reading that!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

