It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

Stop the press – it was actually sunny on bank holiday Monday! After being reassured by Carol, the BBC Breakfast weather girl, I was conned into believing that yet again we would all have a grey standard bank holiday Monday. But how wrong was I and what a stunner it was! The It’s Just Nice dream team certainly made the most of the surprise sunshine by congregating at the beautiful Frankie’s house and having a fantastically sunny BBQ! The food was amazing (Meg provide a very tasty spinach and ricotta tart) and I got to catch up on the Major Lazer /Diplo gossip from Friday night (it’s pretty exciting gossip which I will let the ladies share with you)! It all felt like such a treat to actually have the sun beat down on us – I even now have a little natural colour on my face and arms!

Anyway, I must stop rambling about the sunshine, which I’m already missing, and crack on with what else we have been finding just nice this week! If you’ve found anything Just Nice this week then give us a tweet @Its_Just_Nice or comment on our Facebook page! #itsjustnice

5c37db59c958aa63_168193729.xxxlargeThis week Cloe’s highlight is…

Cara Delevingne

This is a random highlight I know, but I am happy to admit that I have a big time girl crush on Cara Delevingne. This crush of mine has been around a long time now and was highlighted even more this week when she was photographed at the Met Ball in New York in this to-die-for studded Burberry dress.

In my opinion she can do no fashion wrong and I think it’s ace that she’s just a fun loving party girl and is making the most of what she has, which I have to admit appears to be everything! From formal gowns to high tops and onesies, she wears it all with confidence, easily making her an amazing modern style icon! Long live Queen Cara, long may she reign over the fashion industry!

This week Meg’s highlight is…

Very, very predictably I’m still reeling from our Major Lazer extravaganza on Friday. So much so that I don’t quite know where to start! So…from the beginning!

  • The support act: Major Lazer needed someone who could reeeeally hype the crowd, and man, did they find her in Ms Dynamite. Girl’s a bit of a legend, and despite a lot of the audience not really knowing who she was (because they were about TWELVE!) she was bloody awesome. Top marks Ms Dynami-tee-hee!
  • Walshy Fire: You already know I’m a bit in love with Diplo, but maaaaan…Walshy Fire is pretty damn hot, and boy can move too, which brings me on nicely to…
  • The Dancers: Major Lazer are renowned for having some of the best dancers around, and the two girls they had with them on the night were no exception. When I wasn’t staring at Diplo’s face I was totally entranced by them!
  • DIPLO! I think I nearly hyperventilated when he came out, and thankfully, he lived up to all of my expectations. He came out in a suit (tick), took his top off (big tick) and as well as keeping it bouncing all night at the gig, did a brilliant DJ set at the after party. And…
  • I expressed myself for Diplo! So halfway through his shows, Diplo will always pull several girls from the audience to dance on stage with him, and perform the infamous ‘express yourself’ dance, and I was one of them! I spent most of it upside down in a handstand, against the speakers, whist Diplo chucked dollar bills at my bum. Fair to say at that moment all of my feminist morals went out the window, but hey, it’s Diplo! Unfortunately nobody got any good pictures, but you can get the gist from the picture of Franks and I!

diplo

Overall it was probably one of the best gigs I’ve ever been to, and one of the best nights out I’ve had in a long time. If you get a chance to go and see ML at any festivals this year then DO IT. They know how to get the crowd going, and I can safely so I’ve never been to a gig that was just a relentless party from start to finish!

This week Frankie’s highlight is…

Getting on stage with Diplo. No hang on! That was just Meg. Not ashamed to say I have never been more jealous in my entire life than when I saw Meg expressing herself like an absolute boss on stage while Diplo pointed at her arse and dropped Major Lazer dollers on her. It was also my most proud moment- goodness the emotions!

Major Lazer isn’t just a weekly highlight for me, it was one of the best gigs I’ve been too! There was just so much energy and I felt like I could have danced forever! I don’t want to go over it all again, as I think Meg has covered it wonderfully.

So my highlight this week is going to be all of the crazy mental people out there and the wonderful bastards that take that crazy and put it on the internet for me. I want to know about a girl in Japan who has made her hair look like a ripe tomato, I love the fact that someone took the time to make a site and video about cats who think they’re sushi, and people who leave passive aggressive notes are awesome and I want to read them. It’s like me getting my crazy fix at Asda Bedminster but I don’t actually have to go there (if you are lacking some pure mental delight get down there, so much crazy you can barley move without tripping over a woman walking a skunk).

Here are my favourite finds this week:

Cat’s who think they’re sushi 

Textastophe 

Passive aggressive notes

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

