It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

As the horse meat scandal thickens and an Olympic hero is put on trail for murder, I think it’s safe to say that it’s not been the jolliest of weeks… To top it all off it looks and feels like winter is back. The lovely cold weather and bitter wind have decided we got off a bit lightly this year so have returned to make sure we have our fair share. With all this doom and gloom why not get inspired and have a think about what you’re finding just nice this week? To get us in the mood I’m going to start with a terrible dad joke – everyone loves a terrible dad type joke, right?

A cow walks into a bar. Barman says, “Why the long face?”. Cow says “Illegal ingredients, coming over here stealing our jobs!”

Let us know what else you’re finding Just Nice this week or if you have any better jokes then tweet them to @Its_Just_Nice or comment on our Facebook page! #itsjustnice

This week Meg’s highlight is…

brit-geri-300The Brits!

Every year, for as long as I can remember, I’ve looked forward to watching The Brit Awards. It’s probably got a lot to do with the fact that I’m still harbouring a dream that one day I’m going to be an international pop star, and will actually be there, but whatever it is, everyone at The Brits always seems to be having so much fun, and I bloody love it.

On top of that we get to perv on what all of the shiny, sparkly pop stars are wearing (hands up who’s looking forward reading tomorrow’s Daily Mail sidebar of shame’s gleefully scathing opinions on who was hot, and who was not?!), and if that wasn’t enough, The Brits always seems to be the place where all the drama goes down. Remember Jarvis Cocker crashing MJ’s performance in 96, or how about Robbie Williams and Liam Gallagher being prize tits in 2000? And how could we forget Geri Halliwell and that iconic dress?

Whatever it is, The Brits seem to have something that all of the other awards shows lack, and whether it’s controversy, glamour, or the £2,000 goodie bags (???!!), it makes for great TV, and I for one will be tuning in to ITV at 8pm tonight to see what drama 2013 has in store for us.

This week Cloe’s highlight is…

41MimVonRKL._SL500_AA300_Audio books!

This week I’ve started listening to The Great Gatsby audio book and I am totally hooked! I have always been an audio book fan because I am a very slow reader (dyslexic) and I really love someone just reading me a great story. A couple of years ago I did all of the Harry Potter audio books back to back. They did take months to get though but they where totally captivating. They made my half an hour walk to work such a breeze and even something I would look forward to.

The Great Gatsby audio book has done it again, I am now hooked on listening to it while I’m doing my exercises, eating lunch and even doing the washing up. Basically just any old time that I can. The really wonderful thing about audio books is that you get transported into another world and you really become a part of the story.

Once I am done with Gatsby I am going to move onto the True Blood series (The Sookie Stackhouse Novels) and I have been highly recommend that the Game of Thrones books are very good ones. All in all audio books are Just Nice and if you’re keen they’re really easy to download straight from iTunes or Amazon!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

