It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week…

Love is in the air! Now I’m not really a Valentine’s day person, I have always worked on the the assumption it’s a big corporate money maker – which of course it really is! But this year it kinda feels like we all need a little bit of love in our lives! I’m not about to get all mushy and recommend that you buy ridiculously expensive flowers and chocolates for your loved ones, but it really is just nice letting someone know how much they are appreciated and sharing the love!

Let us know what else your finding Just Nice this week by tweeting @Its_Just_Nice or commenting on our Facebook page! #itsjustnice

Cx

This week Cloe’s highlight is…

20130213-121512.jpgBaking a Victoria sponge birthday cake!

It is well documented that I am fast becoming a domestic goddess (if I do say so myself), so this week I took my new powers to the next level and baked a whole cake! It has been years since I have attempted a whole cake and even though the recipe was pretty simple it seemed like a daunting task to undertake. Luckily it turned into my proudest success yet and was a wonderful birthday surprise for my boyfriend (Victoria sponge is his favorite)! To top it all off it really was wonderfully delicious and being homemade meant I could use lots and lots of jam and cream – an essential in Victoria sponge baking!

This week Frankie’s highlight is…

Random Acts of Kindness

Dave

Can I be a bitter single person and just slag off Valentine’s day for being shit? Does that make me look like a loser? Arrh who cares- I’ve got my cats. Hundreds and hundreds of cats. I’m actually not bitter about it at all (yeah, yeah, uh, uh), I don’t really agree with the day and I think it’s just a silly money spinner but I agree with Cloe in that it’s just a great excuse to do something nice for someone you love (although in my opinion you should be doing this every day of the year, says the single girl in the corner!) So I have been and will be celebrating Random Acts of Kindness week, which is happening right now. RAoK is a concept that was started to spread a little more love around the world. You can do it any day of the year but this week highlights and celebrates the concept behind it all- basically being kind and not expecting anything back for it.  I haven’t actually done anything massively kind yet but I haven’t done anything mean… I’ll do something nice later, help a granny across the road maybe? (There isn’t really a good image to sum this up so I provide you with a picture of my cat, Dave. It’s an awesome picture so consider this my first kind act. You’re welcome).

This week Meg’s highlight is…

fthSo carrying on with the Valentine’s theme I’m going to have to agree with Frankie that yes, it’s really wanky, but on the plus side, it can be used to market things you wouldn’t normally associate with Valentine’s, case and point; ITV’s From The Heart.

From The Heart is an hour long special being aired on ITV tonight at 9pm, featuring performances, sketches and interviews with plenty of famous faces from the world of music, sport and comedy. What the bloody hell has this got to with Valentine’s Day, I hear you cry! Well, From The Heart is spreading the message that rather than giving flowers, chocolate, and all of the usual Valentine’s tat, give something that really matters this year – your body. More specifically (before you start getting ideas you filthy lot!) giving your organs, by signing up to the NHS Organ Donor Register.

On New Year’s Eve my cousin Will had a heart transplant, after months of being top of the urgent transplant list. Thanks to the bravery and generosity of the donor family, Will’s been given a second chance, but the fact is that only 30% of the UK population are organ donors. On top of that, 43% of families refuse to let their loved one’s organs be released for transplant after they die, even if they were on the register, simply because they don’t know their wishes. Mental huh?

Will’s story will be featured on From The Heart tonight, so if you’re flicking through the channels tonight give it a watch. If you’re not already signed up to the donor register then do it now, and most importantly, make sure that you let all of your friends, family, and loved ones know exactly what you want to happen to your organs once you die. If they’re unsure then tell them that if they don’t adhere to your wishes then you’ll come back and haunt them – that should work!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

