It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week, and what we’ve loved about 2012!

So much has happened this year that I don’t really know where to start with this post. For starters let me say this…I don’t know if it’s because I’m getting older, but this year seems to have gone quicker than ever. It seems like only a couple of weeks ago that we were all sat in the pub, discussing the possibility of setting up a blog where we could share all of our favourite things, and now here we are, nearly a whole year down the line. That means nearly 52 instalments of our weekly highlights – an idea that was originally the brainchild of honorary Dream Team member, Polly.

And what a good idea it was!

I for one have loved having somewhere to wax lyrical about all of the things which have been making me smile, and I hope that somewhere along the line we’ve managed to spread a little cheer on what have generally been a year’s worth of drab, dull Wednesdays.

To celebrate the final weekly highlights post of the year, we thought we’d give you a run down of what’s made 2012 just nice for us!

Mx

Frankie’s 2012 highlights have been…

So much has happened for me this year, both good and bad, and what I’ve realised is that when the shit hits the fan you get really good at cleaning yourself up. OK, gross metaphor aside what I’m trying to say is that when things are bad you can see what you’ve got that is great!

For a start I’ve got an amazing family and the best of friends who have supported me through everything. I have my health and I ran my first half marathon this year (in training for the Berlin marathon at the moment).

djsI kicked started my superstar DJ career with Meg (coming to a club near you in Bristol soon). And I’ve had some amazing fun this year! The running man has been performed at least 30 times (total guess and it’s probably more), I’ve drank an orchard’s worth of cider, I have fallen over badly and scrapped my knees only twice, I didn’t fall off my bike all year (MASSIVE achievement for me), I took my first girl’s holiday to Turkey (what happens in Turkey stays in Turkey, remember that please girls) and I met loads of lush people to be merry with.

So all in all, a pretty good year! But, 2013 is set to be an absolute corker! I start a new job, I’m going to run a marathon in Berlin, I’m definitely meeting a handsome and rich man who is going to worship the ground that I walk on, one of my best mates, Mel, is coming back from South Korea for a few weeks and I’m sure lots of other great stuff is coming my way.

Meg’s 2012 highlights have been…

photoLike Franks, I’ve had a real mixed bag of a year. The bad has been really bad, and without going into too much detail, some things make you realise just how important your health is.

That said, these kind of things have a way of putting everything into perspective, so I’ve learnt, in my Dad’s words, “not to sweat the little things”. I’ve also realised just how absolutely bloody fantastic my friends and family are. I feel very lucky to have such a wonderful bunch of people to rely on.

Like Franks, one of my biggest highlights this year has been launching our DJ duo Duchess, and playing several live gigs as well as hosting our first ever boat party. That was a particularly special point for me, as it was a chance to get everyone I loved together to celebrate my birthday and have a damn good dance. I’ll never forget the image of  my parents getting down to some dirty, dirty Moombahton with all of my friends – priceless.

In other news this year, I’ve dip dyed my hair pink (great conversation starter), discovered just how much I love baking (enough to enter next year’s Great British Bake Off) and taken on tonnes of extra responsibility at work, which has made me realise that there really is no other career option for me other than events – it’s all I want to do! (unless I can become a professional super star DJ that is)

However, there was one bitter sweet moment that summed this year up for me, and that was my great mate Polly leaving Bristol for the bright lights of London town. I’ve known Polly since I was 12 years old, and we’ve been peas in a pod ever since (despite several years apart). I’m immensely proud of her moving to London to pursue her dream job, and I’ve absolutely no doubt that she’ll be hugely successful in whatever she does, wherever she does it, but it doesn’t mean I don’t miss her like a lost limb any less! *SOB*

Cloe’s 2012 highlights have been…

1343486063_olympic-opening-cerimony_1I think it’s safe to say that this year didn’t really pan out how I thought it was going to… Having spinal surgery wasn’t at the top of my agenda last new years eve!

However it has been what it has, and like many of life’s little trails and tribulations, some good has certainly come out of it! So without any more any philosophical metaphors I best just get on and tell you what my best just nice of the year has been!

Clearly by a landslide my best bit of 2012 has been the London Olympics!!! I had Olympic fever so bad and due to all my time off I became the in flat correspondent of the days action regularly providing text updates of all of the exciting action! I have never wanted to be a part of a team like I wanted to be a part of Team GB. It sounds very gushy but what a wonderful way to show off our little island. I have to say it was the 2 most exciting weeks of the summer for me and it certainly provided me with many highs and lows.

All in all 2012 has been a bumpy one but it will always be held dear to my heart as our amazing Olympic year!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 19, 2012 by in It's Just Nice and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

