It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

When I grow up I want to be Caitlin Moran

Ladies, hands up-who has a girl crush? Judging by my group of friends, I’d say absolutely everyone! Just as we all swoon over Ryan Gosling, or hyperventilate over Tom Hardy (No? Just me…?), we all have that particular lady celebrity who makes us screw up our fists and squeal “Argh!!! I bloody LOVE her!”

Well, for me, that lady is Caitlin Moran; serial columnist, writer and all round funny girl, complete with Dr Marten’s,  massive hair, and tonnes of eye liner.

I’ve just come back from a few days in sunny Malta and my reading material of choice was Moranthology, the follow up to the hugely successful (and an absolute must read for any self respecting lady of the twenty first century) How To Be A Woman. Girls – if you haven’t read this book yet then hop to it and get down to Waterstone’s now! It’ll make you laugh, cry, cringe and above all, really think about what it means to be a woman, or as she so simply puts it demand “…a zero tolerance policy on all the patriarchal bullshit!”

Moranthology is comprised of excerpts from Caitlin’s various different columns, and is a brilliantly witty, fantastically funny amalgamation of her opinion on everything from Rihanna’s cardigan (she should get one) to David Cameron (“a camp gammon robot – a C3P0 made of ham..”). But whether she’s telling stories about meeting the Prime Minister and shoving the contents of his cheeseboard into her handbag, or going to German sex clubs with Lady Gaga, Caitlin Moran somehow manages to subtly shoehorn in some seriously heartfelt, and downright sob-worthy pieces, covering topics as delicate as a woman’s right to an abortion, global warming, and mental health issues.

So whilst I’m totally in awe of her amazing hair (the bigger the hair the smaller the hips), and would love nothing more than to go dancing in Soho with her, drinking gin and bumping into David Tennant, Benedict Cumberbatch and Kylie, it’s none of these things that put Moran at the top of my lady love list. My favourite thing about her, and her writing, is that she comes across as so, well…normal!

Just like all the rest of us, she buys clothing based more or less entirely on whether it makes her look thinner, she gets starstruck around people she admires (when meeting Eddie Izzard she offers him a fag, then another, saying “If one is cool, then surely two at the same time would be even cooler. It’s like a …circle of coolness.”) and she’s late for everything (SHE kept Gaga waiting for three hours!) Basically, she behaves in exactly the same way as any one of us mere mortals would do when put in a similarly ridiculous situation, but the only difference is, instead of trying to drown the shame with gin, she writes about it (after she’s drunk copious amounts of gin, I assume).

I could bang on for ages about why you should read Moranthology, or do as I did with my poor boyfriend on holiday and quote my favourite bits, but I tell you what – why not read it for yourself and you’ll see exactly what I mean.

P.S – If you don’t already, then follow Caitlin Moran (@caitlinmoran) on Twiiter – she is sheer social media comedy genius!

8 comments on “When I grow up I want to be Caitlin Moran

  1. L
    October 3, 2012

    Eeek so excited to read this! x L

    • Meg Pope
      October 3, 2012

      It’s so good! I read it in about a day and a half and pretty much laughed the whole way through!

      • L
        October 3, 2012

        Oh yay! I was like that with ‘how to be a woman’.. finished it in a few days and laughed my ass off. Thanks 🙂

  2. inbetweenthespeakers
    October 7, 2012

    I adored this post! Me and my group of friends all swoon over Ryan Gosling and Tom Hardy too, but there’s a special place in our hearts reserved for Caitlin Moran! I insisted that all my friends read How To Be A Woman as soon as I’d finished it, and now we all idolise her, and basically want to be as cool as her (one day, maybe?!). I think she’s a real role model for young girls! xx

    • Meg Pope
      October 7, 2012

      Aw thank you so much-so glad you enjoyed it!
      You’ve hit the nail on the head-she’s the perfect role model! What a babe!

  3. Emsy
    October 12, 2012

    Hello! I found your blog while Google searching for Caitlin Moran and then realised you live in Bristol too. Yey!

    (I met Caitlin yesterday. I still haven’t calmed down)

    • Meg Pope
      October 12, 2012

      OMG – where did you meet her?! So very, very jealous!!

      • Emsy
        October 14, 2012

        Met her at the Cheltenham Lit. Festival. She was AMAZING. I’m completely in love. She is probably one of the nicest people you’ll ever meet. If you ever get the chance to see her live then DO IT.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2012 by in It's Just Nice and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

