It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

The Friday Chair Dancer

So…it’s finally here. After months of waiting (and six years of waiting for it to return to Ashton Court), Brisfest weekend is finally upon us!

The line up is full to bursting with some of the best acts Bristol and beyond has to offer, we’ve been beavering away on our costumes (Frankie for one has spent the past 48 hours creating her wings, as you do) and by the looks of  the Brisfest facebook page, the sets are coming along like a dream.

Can you tell how excited we are?!!

Just in case you couldn’t we’ve decided to do a special Brisfest themed celebratory Friday Chair Dancer this week, and have each selected our top picks from the line up.

If you’re there, keep an eye out for us – (we’ll be the ones covered in glitter and dancing like crazy ladies at the front) and if you’re not, stay tuned for our Brisfest round up post next week!

This week Meg’s chair dancing to:

This man really needs no introduction, but the act I’ve been really looking forward to seeing this weekend is Roni Size.

I would say that Roni Size had more than a big part to play in influencing my musical taste (even if I did go to a house party once and see him passed out on the sofa with a willy drawn on his forehead) and this track is one of my favourites.

It’s a an album track from Return to V, so isn’t the obvious choice (Brown Paper Bag – all the way, if we’re going down that avenue) but I listened to this track so much when I was about 17 that I can’t not include it. Unfortunately, he’s never played it out when I’ve seen it, so Roni – if you’re reading – play this one for me please!!

This week Frankie’s chair dancing to:

You know, I almost went with Roni Size and Brown Paper Bag- because it’s an absolute classic, and like Meg a tune that influenced me a lot as I was growing up! Then I was moving towards De La Soul and Me, Myself and I (becuase it’s awesome and they are going to be amazing).  But, in the end I went for a band who are so Bristol that they’re practically part of the Clifton Suspension Bridge. They are the fantastic ska, dub, hiphop fusion that are Babyhead. If you’re at Brisfest, definitely go and see them, and if you’re not they play in Bristol all the time- so go! They have so much energy and I guarantee you’ll spend the whole gig jumping up and down like a loon. That’s what I do anyway.

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 21, 2012 by in Music and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 241 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

