It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we think is just nice this week!

So… Summer is well and truly done and the chill is back in the air. How miserable! However we hope to bring a little bit of jolly back into your lives with our it’s just nicer’s of this week!

Let us know what you’re all finding Just Nice this week by tweeting @Its_Just_Nice or commenting on our Facebook page! #itsjustnice

This week Frankie’s It’s Just Nice highlight is:

Nike High Tops! I recently rediscovered my amazing pair of Nike ID’s (Nikes that you can custom yourself) and I’ve been loving them! Normally I like to wear a shoe with a bit of a heel because I’m not tall and they make my legs look nicer- but my high tops are sooo comfy. Plus, when I go out dancing it doesn’t kill me to jump up and down when I dance. Unfortunately, my high tops have now been banished as they make my feet smell like they are dead! Which I think is why I stopped wearing them in the first place…..Really must buy a new pair, the ones pictured are boss, and they have a wedge so my stumpy legs will look longer!

This week Meg’s It’s Just Nice highlight is:

Quinoa!! I’ve recently discovered it, and without wanting to sound like too much of a foodie nerd, it’s revolutionising my cooking!

Up until recently I had no idea what this super food is, let alone tried it, but it’s an edible seed that can be prepared in pretty much exactly the same way as you would do cous cous. It’s really high protein and is one of the most nutritiously ‘complete’ foods you can eat (sorry, that sounds so wanky!)

Anyway, I’ve been eating tonnes of it this week, as it’s delicious. My favourite way of eating it so far is as an alternative to rice, in stuffed peppers (pictured). I simply fry a bit of onion and garlic with some coriander, cumin, paprika and lots of salt and pepper, then stir in the quinoa (you can buy it ready cooked in Sainsbury’s), add some kidney beans, some chopped coriander and some crumbled feta, then pack it into a pepper and bake in the oven for 25 minutes. I served mine with steak and corn on the cob and it was bloody LOVELY!

This week Rosie’s It’s Just Nice highlight is:

Winter. It’s on its way! Yeah yeah yeah Summer’s nice and all that but I love the crap seasons. I’m all up for Winter and Autumn. So little indecision – “is it going to rain?” Yes. “Will I need a coat?” Yes. As soon as the temperature gets to about 20 degrees I have to lie in a star shape, so that none of me is touching, moaning and shouting “DON’T TOUCH ME” at anyone who comes close. Soon I won’t have to justify being pale or constantly wearing booties cos that’ll be everyone else too.

This week Cloe’s It’s Just Nice highlight is:

Is BBC Three’s new program – Tourettes: Let Me Entertain You

Basically the format is that Reggie Yates sets out to find people who have a musical talent that is being eclipsed by tourettes. We were slightly apprehensive about watching the show because you do feel bad laughing at tourettes, however it really shows how wonderful and brave these people are. I was also completely in awe of their wonderful musical talent and amazed how it stops their tourettes from coming out. If you haven’t seen it already it really is a must watch on iPlayer – it will make you laugh alot (there is no way of getting away from the fact it is very funny, especially when they all meet) but it will also uplift you and show how wonderful these young people are. Bring on next week!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 12, 2012 by in It's Just Nice and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Top Rated

