It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

My love affair with all things neon…

I have an addiction…and I’m not afraid to admit it. I’m completely and utterly OBSESSED with anything neon.

I’ve always had a bit of a soft spot for anything verging on the tackier end of the colour spectrum, but this season’s catwalks, which are awash with highlighter shades, have taken things well and truly to the next level!

Over the past few weeks I’ve managed to amass this collection of neon beauties, all of which have been a complete bargain:

  • Leopard & pink scarf – Primark
  • Pink open knit jumper – Primark
  • Blue, pink, yellow and black cardigan – Primark
  • Pink sunglasses – H&M
  • Pink & gold ring – Primark
  • Orange & tan brogues – Primark
  • Yellow court shoes – Topshop
  • Baroque print scarf – H&M
  • Orange & gold hoops – Primark
  • Neon & gold necklace – H&M
  • Black & yellow sandals – H&M

Now as much as I love this season’s neon trends, I’m under no illusions that it’s going to fade as quickly as it appeared, which is why most of my purchases are from Primark. If you’re going to go whole hog with this trend think carefully before investing in pricey pieces – you’ll feel far guiltier if you buy a pair of £40 neon jeans and never wear then than if you’d spent £8 on a pair of Primarni pumps! However, anyone who’s read Caitlin Moran’s brilliant ‘How to be a woman’ will know that every woman should own a pair of yellow court shoes, which is why my £25 Topshop courts (which I’ve named my Rihanna shoes) are well and truly staying.

So how do you wear the neon trend without looking like you’ve just stepped out of the 80’s (and not in a good way)? Well, unsurprisingly, the key to pulling it off is less is more. Neon can make you look like you’re a guest at a Big Fat Gypsy Wedding very, very easily (a line which I’m sure I’ve trodden on many an occasion), so here are a few tips on how, and where you can get away with it!

  • Less is more… – stick to one key neon piece in your outfit, such as some punchy neon sandals, or a really bright scarf, and keep the rest of it simple. Neon looks great against dark denim, black, and white.
  • …But not when it comes to jewellery – I have no concept of where to stop when it comes to jewellery, so I may not be the best person to listen to, but you can get away with more when you’re incorporating neon into your outfit through flashes of bright, bright jewellery.
  • Neon tailoring = GOOD – Check out the model below in her highlighter yellow jacket. You can get away with block neon if you invest in a decent, well tailored piece, such as a great jacket, or some really good fitting trousers. However, it’s likely to set you back a bit, so make your decision carefully
  • Mix neon & pattern – but try to stick to monochrome pattern. Take a look at how good the black and white tribal shorts below look with a neon yellow shirt and bright blue nails.
  • Forget the rules at festivals – Or if you’re in Ibiza!! If you’re lucky enough to be at a festival or at some glamorous Mediterranean holiday spot then throw the rule book out the window and go mental – the bolder the better!

Here are my favourite neon looks that we’ve found on Pinterest – you can follow us here! Mx

2 comments on “My love affair with all things neon…

  1. Frankie
    July 3, 2012

    Love this post Meg. Maybe I should get my NEON ON! Not sure it’s quite me style but I certainly do love it on you.

  2. Meg Pope
    July 3, 2012

    Franks – if anyone could pull it off it’s you! I’ll be expecting a neon headscarf next time I see you please!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 3, 2012 by in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 242 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

