It's Just Nice

A lifestyle blog bringing you fashion, music, food, and everything else that's just nice about Bristol and beyond!

What we’re listening to: Diplo – Express Yourself EP

Now I’m sure I’m not alone in doing this, but now and again I get a bit obsessed with a track and I literally can’t stop listening to it. Don’t get me wrong, I love finding new music (cue Hipster klaxon), but sometimes, especially when I know I’ve got some work to be getting on with, there’s nothing I love more than sticking my headphones in and putting on a track that I can rely on to make me do a little chair dance – Cloe style!

It’ll come as no surprise to anyone who knows me that I’m dedicating a whole post to this EP, as I have something of an unhealthy obsession with Diplo, but this has been my go to set on Soundcloud ever since it was uploaded and I’m not even close to getting bored of it yet.

For those of you who haven’t researched Diplo’s background extensively (not that I have…obviously) he’s the brains behind Paper Planes by M.I.A, Climax by Usher, and of course the eternally catchy Run the World by Beyonce, which samples Major Lazer’s Pon De Floor (Major Lazer is Diplo’s side project for all you fact fans out there). He’s also recently worked on the Scissor Sisters’ new album, and has produced a track for Justin Bieber, so it’s fair to say he’s a man with many fingers in many pies.

Anyway, that’s enough fan boy behaviour from me – let’s get down to business.

With a schedule that sees him working with anyone who’s anyone in the industry, releasing a book, hosting a BBC 1Extra show, and touring pretty much non-stop, it’s no surprise that Express Yourself is Diplo’s first substantial solo release since 2004’s Florida. But as they say, good things come to those who wait, and what’s more this EP has something for everyone. From moombahton to dubstep, dancehall to New Orleans bounce, Express Yourself covers it all.

Be warned, if you’re looking for something to zone out to, this isn’t it. Listening to the title track will have you literally bouncing in your chair, and I’d strongly recommend watching the video below – it’ll leave you speechless, and a glance at the #expressyourself hashtag on Twitter will introduce you to the craze it’s spawned that my friend Frankie has aptly described as ‘dirty planking’. Check out our effort against Bristol’s iconic See No Evil graffiti on Nelson Street – it even got a re-tweet from the man himself!

So if you like your music unapologetically dynamic, and as one blogger described it, “almost hallucinatory on the right pair of head phones”, give it a go!

Enjoy Mx

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2012 by in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 240 other followers

Twitter

Top Rated

